

11 20 2012A Reorganization Meeting

For ADA assistance, contact the Office of Equity and Compliance, 534-0781, at least 3 business days before the meeting. A voluntary invocation may be offered before the opening of the School Board meeting by a private citizen. The views or beliefs expressed in the invocation have not been reviewed nor approved by the School Board, and the Board is not allowed, by law, to endorse the religious beliefs or views of this, or any other speaker.

Call Meeting to Order

Acceptance of Agenda

1. Accept the Agenda for the November 20, 2012 Reorganization Meeting

Motions:	
Motion to accept the November 20, 2012 Reorganization Agenda.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Dick Mullenax	
Second: Tim Harris	
Hunt Berryman	- Not Present
Lori Cunningham	- Aye
Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

Pledge of Allegiance

Special Recognitions

Public Comments on Agenda Items

2. SPEAKERS

Approval of Minutes

Oath of Office

- 3. John A. Stewart, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools
- 4. Hunt Berryman, School Board Member, District 1
- 5. Lori Cunningham, School Board Member District 2
- 6. Dick Mullenax, School Board Member District 4

Reorganization of the Board

7. Election of Chairman

Minutes:

Mr. Harris recommended the nomination process be handled differently this year. He requested that all nominations be announced, then a separate vote on each individual nominee until a majority is reached. After a discussion by the Board, Mrs. Fields Called for the Question.

Nominees for Chair:

Mrs. Cunningham nominated Hazel Sellers

There were no other nominations.

Motions:

Motion to close the floor for nominations.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Tim Harris

Second: Dick Mullenax

Hunt Berryman - Aye
Lori Cunningham - Aye
Kay Fields - Aye
Tim Harris - Aye
Dick Mullenax - Aye
Hazel Sellers - Aye
Debra Wright - Aye

Motion Minutes:

Motions:

Motion appointing Hazel Sellers as Board Chair. - PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Lori Cunningham Second: Dick Mullenax

Hunt Berryman - Aye
Lori Cunningham - Aye
Kay Fields - Aye
Tim Harris - Aye
Dick Mullenax - Aye
Hazel Sellers - Aye
Debra Wright - Aye

8. Election of Vice Chairman

Minutes:

Dr. Stewart called for nominations for Vice Chair.

Mr. Berryman nominated Kay Fields for Vice Chair.

There were no other nominations.

Motions:	
Motion to close nominations for Vice Chair.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Tim Harris	
Second: Dick Mullenax	
Hunt Berryman	- Aye
Lori Cunningham	- Aye
Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye

Motions:		
Motion appointing Kay Fields as Vice Chair.	- PASS	
Vote Results		
Motion: Hunt Berryman		
Second: Debra Wright		
Hunt Berryman	- Aye	
Lori Cunningham	- Aye	
Kay Fields	- Aye	
Tim Harris	- Aye	
Hazel Sellers	- Aye	
Debra Wright	- Aye	
Dick Mullenax	- Aye	

^{9. &}lt;u>Designation of Time</u>, <u>Date and Place of School Board Meetings</u>

Motions:

Motion to hold meetings of the School Board on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 1:30 PM and 5:00 PM, respectively; with these meetings being held in the School Board Auditorium at the Administrative Offices in Bartow, Florida.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Lori Cunningham

Second: Kay Fields

Hunt Berryman - Aye
Lori Cunningham - Aye
Kay Fields - Aye
Tim Harris - Aye
Dick Mullenax - Aye
Hazel Sellers - Aye
Debra Wright - Aye

10. Resolution 2012/2013-09

Attachment: Resolution 12 13-09.pdf

Motions:

Motion to approve Resolution 2012/2013-09, authorizing the Banks of Polk County Florida to honor and cash warrants signed by Board Chair and Secretary of the Board.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Tim Harris Second: Debra Wright

Hunt Berryman - Aye
Lori Cunningham - Aye
Kay Fields - Aye
Tim Harris - Aye
Dick Mullenax - Ave

Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

11. Proceedings of School Board Meetings

Motions:

Motion to approve that proceedings of School Board Meetings will be held in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order, Revised, and Rules of the Administrative Procedures Act.

Vote Results

Motion: Debra Wright Second: Dick Mullenax

Hunt Berryman - Aye
Lori Cunningham - Aye
Kay Fields - Aye
Tim Harris - Aye
Dick Mullenax - Aye
Hazel Sellers - Aye
Debra Wright - Aye

Approval of Consent Agenda

New Administrator Announcements

Consent

Regular

Administration - School Board

12. Appointment to FSBA Legistlative Committee

Minutes:

 $\mbox{Mr.}$ Mullenax nominated Debra Wright as the FSBA Legislative Committee representative.

Motions:	
Motion to appoint Debra Wright as FSBA Legislative Liaison.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Dick Mullenax	
Second: Lori Cunningham	
Hunt Berryman	- Aye
Lori Cunningham	- Aye
Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

Motions:	
Motion to appoint Dick Mullenax as Alternate FSBA Legislative Committee Liaison.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Lori Cunningham	
Second: Kay Fields	
Hunt Berryman	- Aye
Lori Cunningham	- Aye
Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

13. Appointment to Polk County Value Adjustment Board

Attachment: Value Adjustment Board - FS194.015.pdf

Attachment: Value Adjustment Board General Information.pdf

Motions:

Motion to appoint Hunt Berryman as the School

Board Representative on the Polk County Value - PASS

Adjustment Board.

Vote Results

Motion: Tim Harris

Second: Dick Mullenax

Hunt Berryman - Aye
Lori Cunningham - Aye
Kay Fields - Aye
Tim Harris - Aye
Dick Mullenax - Aye
Hazel Sellers - Aye
Debra Wright - Aye

Public Hearing to begin no earlier than 5:01 PM

Superintendent's Report

14. Superintendent's Report

Minutes:

Dr. Stewart reminded the Board of a special Work Session to be held at the Jim Miles Center Monday, November 26, 2012 at 8:30 AM. The meeting, facilitated by Dr. Tom Freijo, is to establish priorities for the Interim Superintendent.

The Superintendent thanked Judge Davis for administering his Oath of Office.

Dr. Stewart announced that he will be visiting 3 schools per week (2 hours each) to listen to staff and students' concerns. He will create a list to share with the Board at the completion of his visits.

Attorney's Report

Auditor's Report

Board Members' Report

- 15. Hunt Berryman, District 1
- 16. Lori Cunningham, District 2

Minutes:

Mrs. Cunningham presented Mrs. Sellers a plaque in appreciation of her service as Board Chair this past year.

She thanked Judge Griffin for administering her Oath of Office.

- 17. Hazel Sellers, District 3
- 18. Dick Mullenax, District 4
- 19. Kay Fields, District 5

Minutes: Mrs. Fields clarified the Board would have representation at the Bartow Legislative Session scheduled for December 10.

- 20. Debra Wright, District 6
- 21. Tim Harris, District 7

Minutes:

Mr. Harris welcomed Mr. Berryman to the Board and thanked Mrs. Sellers for her continued service as Board Chair.

He commented that the Board will need to seek FSBA's Master Board training to continue holding the distinction.

Public Comments Addressing Items Not on Agenda

22. SPEAKERS

Adjournment	
The meeting adjourned at 9:45 AM. Minutes well	re approved and attested this 11th day of December, 2012.
Hazel Sellers Board Chair	John A Stewart Ed D. Superintendent